Who Are the Best Spinners in Each IPL Team This Year?

Posted on
When the concept of T20 cricket was introduced, it was assumed that it would be a batting-centric game, where the victory or defeat will depend upon the batsmen and their strike rate. But with time it was absolutely clear that the bowling department for any team’s victory in T20 will be as important as the batting department itself.

With the IPL Twenty20 cricket season 11 auction coming to end, we can see a trend of franchisees aiming for the best bowlers regardless of the expensive bidding. Great spinners are like the golden ticket to victory for any team, so let’s have a look at all the spinners each of these IPL teams bagged this year!
1. Kings XI Punjab – Ravichandran Ashwin
One team’s loss is another team’s win. The same goes for Chennai Super Kings that failed to retain Ravichandran Ashwin, and Kings XI Punjab that bought him for 7.6 Cr. in the IPL T20 cricket auction. This top-ranked bowler in ICC 2015, No. 1 ranked Test all-rounder twice and a prominent contributor in the victory of Chennai Super Kings twice, make this right armed off-spinner not just an efficient captain but a big-time asset in Kings XI Punjab.
2. Chennai Super Kings – Harbhajan Singh
The rich experience of Harbhajan Singh as a spinner that added a great deal to the success of Mumbai Indians thrice is a great advantage for the Chennai Super Kings. To see this right-armed off-spinner once again under the leadership of MS Dhoni would be as charming as the good old days.
3. Royal Challengers Bangalore – Yuzvendra Chahal
Virat Kohli as the captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore perhaps made the wisest decision by retaining Yuzvendra Chahal using the RTM card. The highest wicket-taker in the National Under-19 Cooch Behar Trophy 2009, and by scoring 23 wickets in 2015 and 21 wickets in 2016 against his name for RCB, Yuzvendra Chahal is certainly the best and most reliable spinner they have presently.
4. Kolkata Knight Riders – Sunil Narine
Although this South Africa cricket team’s right-armed off-spinner had been in question due to his bowling action, that did not restrain Kolkata Knight Riders to have him as their number one spinner this season. His unpredictable bowling style can throw any batsman off-guard and this technique of his can tremendously in the favor of KKR.
5. Sunrisers Hyderabad – Rashid Khan
The IPL auction was taken by storm when Sunrisers Hyderabad went up to spend a whopping amount of 9 Cr. to retain their spinner in the team using their RTM card. This 19-year-old Afghan bowler is nothing short of a golden ticket for victory in the team. With his impressive performance of taking 17 wickets in 11 matches for Sunrisers Hyderabad last season, this young superstar has many expectations to fulfill this year as well.
6. Delhi daredevils – Amit Mishra
Amit Mishra after some detour is now back with his debut team, Delhi Daredevils. This 35-year-old right-arm leg-spinner is the best spinner the Delhi Daredevil ha got. With his record of 200 wickets in the shortest format of the game and more than 500 in longest format along with his consistently good performances in IPL 2020 cricket, Delhi Daredevils have a lot to offer to their fans in the bowling department.
7. Rajasthan Royals – Shreyas Gopal
Shane Warne, arguably one of the best spinners the history of the cricketing world has ever seen is coaching the squad of Rajasthan Royals. With a bunch of new and really young spinners in the team like Zaheer Khan, Sudhesan Midhun, and Shreyas Gopal, Shane Warne can act like the best godfather they could have hoped for. Shreyas Gopal, the young right-armed young spinner who played an integral role in the title of Ranji Trophy can show wonder under the right guidance and training of Shane Warne.
8. Mumbai Indians – Mayank Markande
With really new talent as spinners this year like Akila Dananjay, Anukul Roy, and Mayank Markande, Mumbai Indian’s gamble in the bowling department might give us a new name in the list of rising spinners in the game. Mayank Markande, the debutant for Punjab in the 2017–18 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy might impress us with his raw energy and talent in this year’s league.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.